Karen Cox Memorial Scholarship


Each year the BEA awards scholarships to high school seniors. The Scholarship Committee selects at least three scholarship recipients. The recipients are notified in May and receive their monetary award the following January. The amount of the monetary award varies each year depending on the interest earned on the fund.

In May 2004, the BEA Rep Council voted to rename the BEA Scholarship Fund to the BEA Karen Cox Scholarship Fund, to honor Karen Cox, who was a dedicated member and Billings School District teacher. Karen Cox was one of Montana's great educators and lost her life doing what she loved: working to improve public education.

2023 Karen Cox Memorial Scholarship Winners

Hunter Gregor

Billings Skyview High School

Drew McDowell

Billings West High School

Addison Snow

Billings Senior High School


Eligibility for the scholarship is limited to:

Application Process

Scholarship applications will be available the first week of February at the counselors' offices at Senior High, West High, Skyview High and the Career Center. The deadline for completed applications accompanied by all required documentation is Thursday, April 6th. 

For more information about the BEA Karen Cox Scholarship Fund, e-mail office@beabillings.org or call 248-9812. 


Contributions to the BEA Karen Cox Scholarship Fund are always welcome and may be mailed to:

BEA Karen Cox Scholarship Fund

510 North 29th Street

Billings, MT  59101